Freelance Web Designer vs Agency in Singapore
Short answer: published Singapore freelancer rates run from S$30 to S$140 an hour and S$500 to S$6,000 a project. Published agency packages start at S$2,500 to S$3,000 and corporate price guides reach S$35,000. The gap is real, but the decision turns on 3 other things: who owns the domain, code and hosting afterwards, what happens when the person leaves, and whether the price is fixed before work starts.
Published figures below are from each company's own pages, checked 18 October 2026.
What are the published price ranges?
| Provider type | Hourly | Per project | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freelance developer, junior (0 to 2 years) | S$30 to S$50 | Not stated | Solohourly, August 2026 |
| Freelance developer, mid (2 to 5 years) | S$50 to S$85 | Not stated | Solohourly, August 2026 |
| Freelance developer, senior (5 years and above) | S$85 to S$140 | Not stated | Solohourly, August 2026 |
| UI/UX designer, mid-level (3 to 6 years) | S$34 to S$76 | Not stated | SecondTalent, 26 September 2026 |
| Budget freelance designer | S$15 to S$50 | S$500 to S$2,000 | Terris, checked 18 October 2026 |
| Experienced freelance designer | S$50 to S$150 | S$1,500 to S$6,000 | Terris |
| Boutique studio | S$80 to S$200 | S$3,000 to S$12,000 | Terris |
| Mid-tier agency | S$100 to S$250 | S$5,000 to S$25,000 | Terris |
| Agency package, 1 to 5 pages | Not stated | From S$2,500 | Singapore Best Web Design |
| Agency package | Not stated | From S$3,000 | OOm |
| Corporate site, price guide | Not stated | S$6,000 to S$35,000 | Mapletree Media |
Two cautions on the table:
- Solohourly's figures are a calculation from a target income of S$90,000 and 1,200 billable hours a year, not a survey of invoices.
- Freelance designer Subraa publishes that project quotes range from S$20 to S$10,000. The freelance range is wide because the label covers a student and a 15-year developer.
Timeline and availability
- A freelancer has one calendar. Work moves fast when it is free and stops when the person is sick, travelling or on a larger job.
- An agency has more hours in parallel and more hand-offs. OOm publishes 2 to 3 months for a standard project, assuming no scope changes or client delays.
- Both depend on your content. The date you hand over copy and photos sets the launch date more than the provider does.
- Ask either for 2 dates in writing: first draft and launch, each counted from content hand-over.
Who owns the domain, code and hosting afterwards?
The question is the same for both. The failure modes differ.
- Domain. A freelancer often registers it on a personal card. An agency often registers it under a company account. Either way, the domain should sit in a registrar account your company controls. Published renewal for .sg and .com.sg is S$45 a year on Qoxy's price list.
- Code. A WordPress site can be exported. A Wix site cannot: Wix's help centre states the site must be hosted on Wix's servers. Ask which platform before you ask the price.
- Hosting. Freelancers commonly place several clients on one shared hosting account they pay for. Exabytes lists its entry plan at S$16.99 a month introductory and S$66.99 standard. If the account lapses, every site on it goes down.
- Leads. Form submissions should land somewhere you can export, not only in a third-party form tool.
The website handover checklist lists the logins to collect before final payment.
What happens when the freelancer leaves?
Freelancers change careers, move countries and take full-time jobs. Agencies lose staff too, so the account manager who sold the job may not be the one who builds it. The protection is identical.
- Domain renewal reminders go to an email address you read, not theirs.
- The hosting account, the repository and the CMS admin are in your name.
- The scope, edit rounds and dates are in writing.
- Someone else can pick up the site without a hand-over call. At the published S$50 to S$150 an hour for an experienced freelancer, 10 hours of re-learning an undocumented site is S$500 to S$1,500 before any change is made.
Without those four, the cost of a departure is a rebuild. The published price of a simple revamp starts at S$1,500 at Innomedia.
A third option: a small studio with a fixed price
Between the two sits a studio that quotes one price before work starts and states the edit rounds and dates. The price is per project, not per hour, so the client is not paying for re-learning or hand-offs.
cense works this way: a website from S$2,000, the full price quoted after one call, a first draft 14 days later, up to 20 rounds of edits, and the domain, code, hosting and data in the client's name. Hosting is S$0 on the standard plan for most business sites and maintenance is S$0 a month. The packages are on the pricing page.
Comparison table
| Freelancer | Agency | Fixed-price studio | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published project price | S$500 to S$6,000 | S$2,500 to S$35,000 | From S$2,000 (cense) |
| Published hourly rate | S$15 to S$150 | S$100 to S$250 | Not hourly |
| Timeline | One person's calendar | 2 to 3 months (OOm) | First draft in 14 days (cense) |
| Who you talk to | The person building it | An account manager | The person building it |
| Continuity | One person | A team with turnover | Stated in the quote |
| Ownership | Ask, then verify | Ask, then verify | Stated: client owns domain, code, hosting, data |
| Year-two fees | Hosting on their account, often | Hosting plus maintenance retainer, often | S$0 hosting on the standard plan, S$0 maintenance |
| Fits | 1 to 5 pages, one decision maker | Brand plus campaign work, procurement rules | 5 to 20 page business site, fixed budget |
Whichever column you pick, send the same brief to each and put the replies in the 15 rows of the quotation checklist. The differences become visible in 10 minutes.
What cense does
cense is a website design studio for Singapore and Hong Kong that quotes one price after one call, delivers a first draft in 14 days and leaves the domain, code, hosting and data with the client. See web design in Singapore.
How much does a freelance web designer charge in Singapore?+
Published rates run from S$30 to S$140 an hour for developers (Solohourly, August 2026) and S$500 to S$6,000 a project for designers (Terris, checked 18 October 2026).
How much does a web design agency charge in Singapore?+
Agencies that publish prices start at S$2,500 to S$3,000 for a small site. Mapletree Media's guide puts corporate sites at S$6,000 to S$35,000.
Is a freelancer or an agency faster?+
A freelancer is faster when free and stopped when busy. OOm publishes 2 to 3 months for a standard agency project. Ask either for a dated first draft.
Who owns the website after a freelancer builds it?+
Whoever holds the domain registration, the hosting account and the code. Put all three in your name before final payment, whichever provider you use.
What happens if my freelance web designer disappears?+
If the domain, hosting and code are in your name, you hire someone else. If they are not, you rebuild. The published cost of a simple revamp starts at S$1,500.



